Synoptic Project -Ekipa-

Phase: 3

29/01/19

My idea of the game was horror-sc-fi in which you are an engineer which was put to sleep in to cryo-pod and have been waken up dude some unsolved problems with the technical thinks on the space-ship. After the waking up processes you find out that the staff of the ship is missing and you are trying to figure out what happened to them. Then, you have heard some weird noises and you are going to find out what is it. Therefore you can see that something attacked the ship which is the virus that the scientists were working on, have mutated with the crew and is hunting you down, so you are trying to escape the ship.

With my team I have manage to build/structure the best idea of the game/narrative for it which is.

We have chosen to made sci-fi/horror game in which you are going to start in med-bay inside cry-pod because of some technical problems your cry-pod got damaged and you woke up, you will need to find out what is going on and order to survive you will be needed to find a way to escape the space ship but there is something trying to get you. I have done some research in sci-fi corridors and med bay in order to have an idea of what I am suppose to do.

Our reaserches was based on few games which we have played before and the games are : Doom, StarCraft 2, Alien&Predator, XCOM2 etc…

After research and meeting/consulting with my team we have finally decided how the game will look and my job was to transform the idea of the game from the narrative/written side to create pictures or I should say basic idea of story board what is happening and how it will look.

I have made an not digital and digital story board of our game in PhotoShop.

After that me and my team have focused on objects and assets that we might need to use and create them for our game in the Unreal Engine.

I have focus on researching/making some asset pack, moodboard of assets and few concept arts for our game like: scalpel, tweezers, painkillers, tubes etc…

Therefore, with Pual we have created so far which we named Production Sprints Sheets and Asset Sheets so we would know what we have done and what needs to be done and I have created Trello page which will be updated during the work of the game.

Those the slides of Sprint Sheets, Assets Sheet, Trello and Google Drive which we have used to store our files and share with others.(UPDATED)

Then I have focus on helping my team with modeling/creating models and the models that I have created are: scalpel blade, painkillers bottle, cupboard and table with the fridge for the laboratory.

Cupboard was made of a single cube which I have scale up a bit to make it bigger then I have added extra edges by using multi-cut tool and started to deleted face that I don’t need. Then, I needed to make shelves and to make them I have used tool called bridge tool that allowed me to connect different ends together.

For Painkillers bottle I have used cylinder for my base and from there I have started to scale up the cylinder also I have used human hand rig to know how big the bottle needs to be. I used multi-tool to give extra edges to make more round, on the top of the painkillers I have used extrude tool couple of times to give the shape of open bottle (those spiral thinks that you have on top of the bottle of coke and on those spirals I have used bevel tool to make it more smooth).

However, one of the assets that I have made was having issues one of them was table-fridge which I have made of a simple cube and then I have uses tools like: extrude, bevel tool to smooth edges of the assets, bridge tool to connect side that were suppose to be together , scaling tool to make it bigger the object and also I have added to many edges (tool multi-cut), so my team couldn’t texture normally because there was simply to many faces made that were missing on UV’s and looked bad. Next, we need to create more simple one and we did. The other one was a scalpel blade which have made it to help Paul with his problem because he didn’t know how to start to make one, so I have simply made on out of the cube and extrude couple times and scale couple times to made it look like a scalpel.

This is simple table-fridge:

Then my job was to focus on Unreal Engine and create block-outs of our assets and rooms that we have planning to use/have.

This picture is an reference that Pual did in Maya and told me to do something similar in Unreal Engine. I have started to work in Unreal Engine and after first few months I have been learning Unreal Engine stuff by watching Youtube and asking for help a teacher (Gareth) and I have made progress in my original Unreal Project which for some reasons of technical problems in Unreal Engine my file (corrupted/error) was deleted and I had it to start again from the begging while there was two weeks left till the first presentation of our work, so I have just a little time to make work so for week and couple days I have mainly focus on Unreal, therefore i have no contribution in posters and game case. After, the week and 1/2 I have finished my Unreal project. However, I have came a cross new problem my team haven’t done Normal map in PhotoShop and some textures were not on Google Drive so, I needed to make another fix which took me a few days to create by using simply option in Filter>3D>Generate Normal Map> Done but when everything was going smooth another problem came over which was no space at my college PC. Next, the problem with PC space came because I have use psd files for assets textures in the Unreal Engine, when I should used tga files which none of my team created and I forgot completely about, so I have asked another teacher to help me with them and after that I just needed to replace the file textures and created couple texuters/materials for our game.

Those picture shows how our “map game” after all those problems and couple screen shots of think that I have done:

On the end I have made an fly through our game/room project which in order to create on I have needed to make new cinematic mat which allowed me to fly trough the game with my camera and every time that I wanted to stop or move camera to left and right i need to press space on the frame that I have choose.

Leave a comment